meira blaustein
executive director

laurent rejto
development director

advisory board
aidan quinn
annie nocenti
bill plympton
bingham ray
david strathairn
eamonn bowles
ellen chenoweth
ethan hawke
fisher stevens
gill holland
griffin dunne
ira schreck
jeremiah newton
john sloss
judy arthur
lemore syvan
leon gast
liev schreiber
martha frankel
michael dorf
michael lang
peter saraf
ron nyswaner
sabine hoffman
sarah plant
stephen hays
stephen nemeth
steve savage
zachary sklar

joan mack
, chair
eva graham

eve cohen
ilene marder

joan quigley
laurent rejto

lauri andretta
stuart hammerman
tony conza



Contact: Caryn Carter, 845-657-6060; 845-679-4265 WFF Office; or 914-388-0720 Cell;

For Photos


/Trail-blaz-er /: an innovative leader in a field; a pioneer

/Jonathan Sehring /: a trailblazing force in independent film and television; pioneer in indie media production and distribution

(Woodstock, New York) August 24, 2006 — The Seventh Annual Woodstock Film Festival (October 11-15, 2006), announced today that its honorary Trailblazer Award will be presented to Jonathan Sehring, president of IFC Entertainment. Meira Blaustein, executive director and co-founder of the Woodstock Film Festival, said, “We are thrilled to recognize Jonathan Sehring with the Woodstock Film Festival’s honorary Trailblazer Award. He embodies the essence of the Award, which is designed to honor a distinguished industry member who, through his or her pioneering approach, has carved new and uncharted territories in the film world.”

Sehring is one of the most well-respected film executives in New York and considered a maverick among his peers for bringing Independent Films to audiences. He launched THE INDEPENDENT FILM CHANNEL, IFC PRODUCTIONS, and IFC FILMS, and in the past year opened the IFC CENTER (a three screen state-of-the-art theater complex in lower Manhattan) and announced a second distribution label, IFC FIRST TAKE. IFC also launched the trailblazing digital production company InDigEnt with partners Gary Winick and John Sloss.

Since its creation in 1997, IFC Entertainment has been a leader in the Independent Film Industry, producing and distributing such groundbreaking films as “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” (distribution), the Academy Award®-winning “Boys Don’t Cry” (production) foreign language hits “Y Tu Mama Tambien” (distribution) and “Monsoon Wedding” (production), doc smash “Touching the Void” (distribution), and recent hits “Me and You and Everyone We Know” (production and distribution), “Fahrenheit 9/11 (co-distribution), “Transamerica” (co-distribution), and “Wordplay” (co-distribution).

Jonathan has served as executive producer for numerous productions, including the award-winning films “Boys Don’t Cry,” Karyn Kusama’s “Girlfight,” John Sayles’ “Men With Guns,” Richard Linklater’s “‘Waking Life,” Mira Nair’s “Monsoon Wedding,” Errol Morris’ “Mr. Death,” Stephen Soderbergh’s “Gray’s Anatomy,” Gary Winick’s “Tadpole,” Rebecca Miller’s “Personal Velocity” and Miranda July's award-winning “Me and You and Everyone We Know.” He also served as executive producer on original programming produced for IFC Network including: John Favreau’s “Dinner for Five,” Isaac Julien’s “Baaadassss Cinema,” Albert Maysle’s “With The Filmmaker,” Adam Simon’s “The American Nightmare,” and Errol Morris’ “First Person.”

“Mr. Sehring is uniquely responsible for the widespread popularity and respect that independent film and television enjoys today,” said Blaustein. “Independent film has flourished in great part thanks to Jonathan Sehring’s unrelenting will and commitment to the independent creative voice and his innovative approach to the industry.”

The Trailblazer Award was presented for the first time last year, in 2005, when the Woodstock Film Festival honored the groundbreaking achievements of entertainment attorney/executive producer/producer John Sloss of Sloss Law and Cinetic Media.

“Jonathan Sehring is an ideal recipient for the Woodstock Film Festival Trailblazer Award,” said Sloss. “Through his work at IFC, he has helped to broaden the opportunities for filmmakers while expanding the audience for independent film.”

The 2006 Woodstock Film Festival Trailblazer Award will be presented to Jonathan Sehring on Saturday, October 14 in Woodstock.

Sehring stated, “I’m honored to be the recipient of the Woodstock Film Festival’s Trailblazer Award and look forward to continuing IFC's mission of providing a voice to independent filmmakers worldwide. I’m in good company with John Sloss and future trailblazers who will continue to pave the way for independent film.”

Prior to the creation of IFC Entertainment, Sehring oversaw all programming and production activities for Bravo Networks, where he was responsible for creating and launching several award-winning shows and series, including Bravo’s Emmy-nominated series “Inside the Actors Studio,” the network’s CableAce Award-winning series “The South Bank Show,” and The Independent Film Channel’s CableAce Award-winning profile of Sam Fuller, “The Typewriter, The Rifle and The Movie Camera.”

The Woodstock Film Festival will soon announce this year’s annual Honorary Maverick Award to an individual whose life and work is based on creativity, independent vision, and social activism. Past recipients include Steve Buscemi, Mira Nair, Woody Harrelson, Tim Robbins, D.A. Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus, and Les Blank.

The week of September 18, 2006, the Woodstock Film Festival will announce the full line-up of films, panels, concerts, and events that will be featured at the seventh annual event.


The seventh annual The Woodstock Film Festival takes place October 11-15, 2006. The ‘fiercely independent’ event will include more than 150 films, panels, concerts, and special events that will be featured at venues in Woodstock and the neighboring towns of Rhinebeck, Hunter, and Rosendale. Visit for ticket and more detailed program information.

Over the years, the Woodstock Film Festival has established itself as one of the best independent film events in the country by premiering exceptional films, hosting the most talented emerging and established professionals in the movie industry, presenting A-list concerts, parties and panels, and creating innovative and stimulating programming year-round.

The Woodstock Film Festival is a not-for-profit, 501(c)(3) organization with a mission to present an annual program and year-round schedule of film, music, and art-related activities that promotes artists, culture, inspired learning, and diversity. The Hudson Valley Film Commission promotes sustainable economic development by attracting and supporting film, video, and media production.

For information contact (845) 679-4265 or visit

# # #

P.O Box 1406, Woodstock, NY 12498 - (845) 679-4265 -